Image

What I’ve Been Up To

12 Mar

This is what my mom’s coffee table has looked like for the past week and a half. When it comes to Russian, what I have are all the pieces, and a really hard time putting  them all together. So, when I have to do any kind of communication in the language, I usually write out my thoughts in English and then translate it. I know, I know, I know this is not the way you’re supposed to write in another language.

There is no doubt in my mind that I doubled my time in writing this. First, I wrote it in English. Then edited it in English. You can’t really see it, but there’s like…three different English essays there. Then I translated it and boy oh boy did I have fun when certain turns of phrases didn’t translate. Finding substitutes and realizing how abstract and metaphorical English is, is delightful. 

One of the things I’m really looking forward to doing in Russia is putting all the pieces together and just speaking without any reservations. But as of now, it’s a lot of translating. It’s a lot of looking every single thing every up in my grammar and verb books. And a lot of frustrated tears.

But, I got it done and turned in. Like a boss…как хозяин.

That is not my phrase. Got that from a friend.

Leave a Reply

Blog Update You!

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

ROAM ABOUT MIKE

Adventures From Around the Globe

Population GO: where Geek and Otaku culture meet.

Wordpress for http://populationgo.com

dare I eat a peach?

a new author's hope to succeed

